World Book Nay? That’s World Book Okay.

Happy World Book Day! My gifts to myself to celebrate were The Martian by Andy Weir, The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett and Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller.

However, I want to talk about the people who don’t read.

Some people struggle to read. They may have dyslexia, they may struggle to see, or they may have never been encouraged to read so they’re out of practice. That’s okay. Some people just don’t like reading. They have other hobbies, maybe they’re more into energetic activities, and maybe they can’t focus on a book for hours on end. That’s okay. Some people are fed up of books. Maybe they’ve had to study far too many tedious books in school, or maybe, like if I was forced to run 5 miles each day, they’ve been made to read to the point where they’ve lost the passion for it. That’s okay.

Today is a day of encouraging people to read. Today is a day of celebrating authors, and enjoying your favourite books. Maybe, like me, you’ve treated yourself to some new ones. Maybe you’ve recommended a book you love to a friend. Maybe you went to school dressed up as your favourite character. Heck, maybe you went to WORK dressed as your favourite book character. Who says today is a day just for children?

It does make me sad that less people read and more people just stare at a screen. I love TV shows as much as the next person, but there’s so much more to the world- and by so much more I mean more books. Books are fun. I do feel disheartened when I hear that less parents are reading to their children before bedtime. I always found it to be good for me psychologically because I could wind down, and it would always signify the end of the day. Even if Mum wasn’t there, I remember having those read along tape cassettes where the book would be read aloud and I would follow on with my copy. I was a cool kid.

Also, if you prefer reading on a Kindle because you like the lighting and the portability, that’s okay. If you prefer to feel the book in your hand as you cwtch up on the sofa after a long day at University, that’s okay. However, there are other ways to wind down. Some people just don’t read.

I always strive to encourage people to read, because it is so good for you. However people have their own reasons for not doing so, and we must respect that. If you have children, PLEASE READ TO THEM. Stories have a sense of freedom that TV shows can never provide.

Some people don’t read. And that’s okay.

3 thoughts on “World Book Nay? That’s World Book Okay.

  1. Student304 says:

    The Martian is a brilliant book! So many chuckles coupled with a genuinely enthralling storyline. I really hope you enjoy it! 😀

    Also I loved the writing style of this – I definitely want to read to (my hopefully) interested children when I’m older. Final line was very apt. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

