The Pokémon Book Tag

pokemonbooktag_副本

This is a tag made by The Writing Hufflepuff, and I love Pokémon and books so it felt like a no brainer to do!

Your starter Pokémon
The first book you started your journey as a reader with.IMG_3782.JPG

I can’t really pinpoint the exact book I started with, but the most poignant for me were the Malory Towers series. My mother gave me these when I was a kid, and they used to be hers, so I treasure them dearly even though they’re falling apart and the language used makes me cringe a little now! I used to love them when I was younger though, and the fact that I used to read them over and over again makes them deserve a special place in my heart

Gotta catch ’em all!
Five books you really need to ‘catch’.

The Art of Being Normal, On the Other Side, Maestra, Room, and The Bloody Chamber.

A legendary Pokémon appeared!
A special edition/signed copy you own.

IMG_3784

I also have a signed version of Fangirl but that’s at University, and I am not at the moment. However in 2014 I got to meet Rainbow Rowell with my best friend and she signed Eleanor and Park, and Fangirl! I admire her work and her as a person so much.

Magikarp has evolved in Gyarados!
A book that started out weak but turned out to be really good.

IMG_3787

Shades of Grey, by Jasper Fforde. I don’t think it was weak story wise but it took me a while to grasp such an unusual concept, but once I did I was addicted!

Jigglypuff uses Sing!
A book that made you fall asleep.

Mrs Dalloway. I’m sorry all you hip Virginia Woolf fans, but the whole ‘stream of consciousness thing’ drove me up the wall. I never finished it, but I had to study it so I got the general idea of the whole thing. I also wrote an essay on it. What fun.

Skitty uses Attract!
A book you fell in love with.

FullSizeRender-1

Ready Player One. If you’re into video-gaming, or sci-fi, or even dystopian futures, READ IT. Oh man, it’s my favourite book. I mean, I will surrender to clichés and say that I love Harry Potter A LOT. However I kind of knew I was going to, so it wasn’t so much of an ‘OH MY WORD WHY DID I NOT READ THIS SOONER’ kind of feeling? And to think if my friend had never encouraged me to read it would have taken me even longer to find this goldmine of a book. I love it.

The Elite Four
Your top four books.

Other than Ready Player One, because we’ve already established my love for that.

The Martian, by Andy Weir
I’ll Give You the Sun, by Jandy Nelson
Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell
The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern

Your Pokédex
A photo of the books you’ve ‘caught’.

The first two are my (very messy) shelves at home, and then the bottom image is my bookshelf at University! There may be some books in both pictures because I took some home over the Easter holidays, and my Mortal Instruments books look incomplete because I’m lending them to a friend. I’m rapidly running out of shelf space!

Masterball
A book you need a Masterball for to ‘catch’ it- a.k.a. a lot of money.

IMG_3792

My copy of The Hobbit was the most expensive book I’ve ever bought. It was worth it though, because it’s GORGEOUS. It’s also a hardback, and it has a map in it. Oh man.

 

So that’s it! If anyone wants to use it, it’s not my tag so *shrugs*. I’m not really one to use tags often but I find them really useful if you’re out of more creative ideas or you’re starting out, or even if you want to show off your pretty books! I don’t know. It’s 12am. I need to be up at 6. I’m going to bed.

4 thoughts on “The Pokémon Book Tag

    • Bronwyn says:

      I was really fun to do, so thank you! It was more luck in a way, she was doing a signing in Cardiff so I thought I NEED TO GO! Hopefully she’ll come back because I’ve bought more of her books since 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Student304 says:

    Ahh this was so cool! Unfortunately picture taking will be hard for me so I can’t really do the tag effectively 😦

    But I love the idea – kudos to whoever came up with it. And also a lovely selection from you!

    Like

    • Bronwyn says:

      Thanks pal! The Writing Hufflepuff made the tag, she has a bunch on her blog! There’s bound to be one that doesn’t require too much photography- this post took me ages to make because of them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

