The Book Lover Tag

Here’s the thing. As much as I hate to admit it, it’s half way through the year. So I’m jumping on the bandwagon and doing a tag and generally rounding up what books I’ve read so far this year- enjoy!

This tag was originally written by whimsywriter, which you can view here, and I took it from Callum’s blog, which you can view here

What book are you currently reading?

I’m just starting The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan. I’ve settled into a habit of waiting for my best friend to buy the Percy Jackson books and read them, and this one is no exception. This one is the start of a new saga in the same universe, and I like the fact that it is a fresh story with new characters, yet there’s still references to the original series which made it popular in the first place.

What’s the last book you finished?

A Clash of Kings by George R R Martin. I can’t say enough about how good this series is, but IT IS SO GOOD. However I understand if it’s not to everyone’s taste, especially younger readers.

Favourite Book you read this year?

The Martian by Andy Weir. I’ve been really enjoying sci-fi since I started broadening my horizons and this is one of the best I’ve read since Ready Player One. I’ve been meaning to see the film because I’ve heard very good things about it but I never got around to it, but the book is great.

What genre have you read most this year?

Fantasy I guess? That’s all I ever read anyway to be honest. The types of fantasy and the things you can do with that genre are almost limitless as I said in my previous post, so I never get enough of it!

What genre have you read least this year?

I’ve been meaning to read more classics this year but so far I’m doing dismally. It will probably be a good summer task though because I’ll have more time and more train journeys just to read.

How many books have you read this year and what’s your goal?

I’ve read 40 books so far this year, and I plan to read 80, so so far I’m on track! You can find my goodreads on my homepage somewhere.

What’s the last book you bought?

Red Queen, which I very much enjoyed, but I have been given books since like the Game of Thrones boxset etc.

What book are you saving up to buy next?

I have books on my wish-list but there isn’t a particular book that I’m waiting to buy at the moment, as I don’t usually have priorities! I just keep a wishlist on Wordery and then when I have money I’ll pick one at random.

How many books did you check out last library visit?

I haven’t been to the library in a long time. Since moving out and just generally buying my own books so I can keep them, I have neglected my local library, which is not something I’d really encourage. Go to libraries, I mean you can get free books and as a student I thrive off freebies so you’ll know where I’m coming from. Also if you don’t enjoy the book it’s not the end of the world, either.

What’s a book you can’t wait to read?

The rest of the Game of Thrones series. I’m currently king a break to read a The Trials of Apollo because that was lent to me but I will definitely get back into it as soon as possible!

What’s a series you’d recommend to everyone?

If you’re not squeamish, Hannibal. It’s clever, manipulative and exciting, and I loved it. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea though. Most of the series I enjoy are either young adult or really really adult books. I’m one of those people.

Who’s an author you’re hoping writes more?

Rainbow Rowell or Jandy Nelson. They’re both such funny yet emotive authors, and I’ve wholeheartedly loved everything I’ve read by them.

A few books your heart adores?

Ready Player One has a very firm place in my heart, as you all know. I also really, really loved The Night Circus, which has earned a special place in my heart because I was so pleasantly surprised when I read it.

What series’ coming conclusion makes you sad?

I’m not looking forward to the end of Game of Thrones, my obsession is increasing with each passing day, if anyone hadn’t noticed already.

What books are on your wish list?

I’ve recently added Dream House by Marzia Bisognin to my wishlist, which may make a lot of people sigh at me because of the youtube book domination, but the fact that it’s fiction and the plot intrigues me. I’m tempted to write a proper post about this, if that would interest people?

Here’s to the remaining 6 months- 40 books to go!

Leave a Reply

