The Refreshing One // The Trials of Apollo Review

I’m in a bit of a reading slump lately. I’m not entirely sure why, but I have been incredibly busy and I’m finally back in the Motherland for the summer! My room is a boxed wonderland.

As a result, a lot of my books have been packed away and I have nowhere to put them at the moment, so my best friend became my hero and lent me the latest Percy Jackson book, The Trials of Apollo (although calling them Percy Jackson books isn’t necessarily accurate anymore, but you get my drift).

I completely forgot that Rick Riordan was still writing more for this series, but what I love about it is that it’s still fresh. He’s retained the essence of the universe, and characters he’s introduced to us earlier on in the chronicles are not forgotten, however the changes of perspective and the introductions of enough new characters continue to keep the series new and exciting,

One of the most interesting things about this book though is the fact that it’s no longer from the perspective of a demigod, but a god himself: Apollo. We get to see a whole new side of this universe and we can understand more about how they think, and the road to his redemption. It’s refreshing to see that they have their own fair share of suffering and it’s not just an easy life being a god, in a way.

It’s also refreshingly lighthearted, which probably makes it more suited to younger readers, but at the same time for people like me who have read them since the beginning, I can’t help but smile at the casual references to things like Spotify, Snapchat and Youtube. I hope they mention #brexit in the next one. Also he’s obviously diverse, yet it’s so subtle the way he mentions it, as he casually makes references to relationships between all genders. It’s cool and refreshing, and it’s not been made a big deal out of which makes it different to other more diverse novels.

There’s nothing really recycled here, too. Percy makes an appearance, but is yet to play a truly major role in this series, which is great because it gives other characters a chance to shine. We learn throughout the chronicles that it’s not just about the ‘big three’ Gods, and other Gods I’ve never even heard of can produce seriously powerful demigods. There’s also an element of teamwork and unity that the real life world seems to be missing out on.

Overall, I loved it. It was lighthearted, amusing and a very easy read. I recommend it mainly to younger readers but if you’ve read the others and are worried about this new one not being as good: trust me, it’s great.

 

Leave a Reply

