Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them // Expectations

So, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is out in the big wide world. Well, it was released at midnight last night in the UK. Would I have got tickets to see a midnight showing? Absolutely. Am I a university student with a gazillion deadlines? Absolutely.
I am making do with a trip to Manchester tomorrow to see it, and like I did with The Cursed Child many months ago (which you can read here) I thought I’d ramble a bit about my expectations.

Due to my experiences reading The Cursed Child (which you can read here), I didn’t rush to pre-order the book. Like The Cursed Child, the novel for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them is a screenplay, and in hindsight it would be a much more authentic experience to see the film first, without spoilers.

Despite this, I am much more excited about the prospect of Fantastic Beasts. Not only is it more accessible to us poor students that can’t afford a trip to London to see a play, but it’s not affiliated with Harry Potter himself. The fact that it is set in 1920s America adds a completely different perspective to the Harry Potter universe, unlike the Cursed Child which carries on directly from the Deathly Hallows. As much as I love Harry Potter, I feel like J K Rowling seemed to focused on the future than filling in the gaps of the past. I enjoy speculating on the future, and that’s why sites like FanFiction are so successful.

I’m ready to focus on a new character in the franchise. Although Cursed Child was supposedly about Albus and Scorpius, Harry still played a major role in his story. It’ll be refreshing to have more context and some fresh theories to discuss, although I doubt my best friend and I will ever run out of something Harry Potter related to debate about.

I’ll hit you all up with a review once I’ve seen it, but in the meantime, if you’ve seen it feel free to reply with spoiler free thoughts and I’ll see you on the other side.

Leave a Reply

