Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them // Review (Film)

I saw Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them a couple of weeks ago. I would have reviewed the book but since the concept was made for the silver screen it was better for me to fully expose myself to this new chapter in the story. I’ve been meaning to write this as soon as possible but I haven’t been able to find any time at all. I would love to dedicate time to this but apparently I’m studying for a degree or something. I’m currently eating my body weight in Pringles. I’m nailing student life.

Overall, I enjoyed it a lot. I was very apprehensive about this, especially after the minor disaster that was The Cursed Child, but the fact that this is a completely new take on the Harry Potter universe made me feel optimistic. I was ready for a fresh start and a dip into the past, and I liked the fact that I was learning new things about a world that is so familiar to me. Another familiarity was the fact that David Yates was directing this, like he has for the previous Harry Potter films. The style was familiar somehow and comforting, however I feel like sometimes you can tell the budget was so much lower for this film.

Newt Scamander, in my opinion, was portrayed excellently. I liked that he was a stereotypical awkward British person who really really adored animals, and I think it was clear throughout the film. What I’m gutted about though is that I’ve heard rumours about him being sidelined in future films? What is the point in presenting a character only to push them to one side in sequels? I’m ready to see Newt grow as a person and learn more about things and discover more of his story, but that’s just me. Hopefully the rumours aren’t true.

However, is it me, or did there not need to be a romantic element to the story? It was predictable and somewhat annoying that the four of them pair off perfectly, but part of me needs to remember that this is Hollywood and not literature. I feel like literature is so much more progressive these days but on the other hand the film industry is so much more accessible and people are so quick to pick up and judge films for lack of diversity or lack of anything really.

Wait, I’m basically judging it right now.

Never mind.

Go see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them.

Leave a Reply

