The Costa Rica Diaries: Expectations

I’m writing this in the comfort of my favourite armchair, my Mum is on the sofa about a couple of metres away from me, I’ve had a couple of cups of coffee and a curry is on the way.

Not to say that I won’t have any of these things at all this time tomorrow, but the change in environment will definitely not be what I’m used to. This time tomorrow I’m going to be in Costa Rica.

This is a big deal for me. Firstly, because I’ve never ventured outside of Europe. Secondly, because my parents will be stuck on the other side of the world. Thirdly, because this time last year I was in a completely different place mentally.

It’s going to be fun. I’m hoping to grow as a person, I’m ready to embrace the culture and the lifestyle, but it’s going to be a challenge.

But yes, I have nothing to expect, nothing to assume, and everything to learn.

Leave a Reply

